Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

School Guide

Course To Study To Become A Pilot In Nigeria

Sponsored Links

Are you in search for the list of Course To Study To Become A Pilot In Nigeria?

Luckily! This webpage will give you the updated information.

To become a pilot in Nigeria, you typically need to obtain the appropriate licenses and certifications from the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA). The primary course of study for aspiring pilots in Nigeria is the Integrated Airline Transport Pilot License (ATPL) program.

Here are the general steps you need to follow:

  1. Educational Requirements: To enroll in a pilot training program, you need to have a minimum educational qualification of five credits in subjects including Mathematics, Physics, and English Language at the Senior Secondary School Certificate Examination (SSCE) level.
  2. Find a Reputable Flying School: Look for aviation training institutions or flying schools that are accredited by the NCAA. There are several flight schools in Nigeria that offer pilot training programs, such as the Nigerian College of Aviation Technology (NCAT), International Aviation College Ilorin, and Pan African College of Aviation and Allied Sciences.
  3. Medical Fitness: Before starting pilot training, you must obtain a Class 1 Medical Certificate from an aviation medical examiner approved by the NCAA. This medical examination ensures that you meet the physical requirements necessary to operate an aircraft.
  4. Private Pilot License (PPL): Begin your training by obtaining a Private Pilot License (PPL). This stage involves theoretical classroom instruction, flight training, and examinations. The PPL allows you to fly aircraft for non-commercial purposes.
  5. Commercial Pilot License (CPL): After obtaining your PPL, you can proceed to the Commercial Pilot License (CPL) stage. CPL training focuses on advanced flight maneuvers, instrument flying, navigation techniques, and emergency procedures. It also includes additional theoretical instruction. Upon completion, you can fly for hire or reward.
  6. Instrument Rating (IR): To enhance your skills and safety in adverse weather conditions, you should pursue an Instrument Rating (IR). This training enables you to fly using instruments alone, without visual references.
  7. Multi-Engine Rating (MER): If you want to fly multi-engine aircraft, you need to acquire a Multi-Engine Rating (MER). This additional qualification allows you to operate aircraft with more than one engine.
  8. Airline Transport Pilot License (ATPL): The final stage of training is the Integrated Airline Transport Pilot License (ATPL) program. It includes advanced theoretical studies, simulator training, and flight training with an emphasis on airline operations and management. After completing the ATPL course and accumulating the required flight hours, you can apply for an ATPL issued by the NCAA.

Please note that the specific requirements and regulations may change over time, so it’s essential to consult the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) or accredited flight schools for the most up-to-date information regarding pilot training in Nigeria.

Share This:
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

You May Also Like

Sponsored Links

You cannot copy content of this page